Meditation on Being Home


We often believe that external settings and circumstances make us uncomfortable. We often experience discomfort, disorientation, self-consciousness, anger or fear when we enter into unfamiliar or seemingly chaotic or hostile environments.

From the mundane (meetings at work, angry clients, tense family get-togethers, finding one’s self in a crowd of unfamiliar people when everyone else seems to know each other, etc.) to the less regular experiences (moving to a new house or community, starting a new career, meeting future in-laws for the first time, etc.), we tend to believe the story that we convince ourselves is absolute reality: “there is something threatening here, I am uncomfortable, and I will behave accordingly.”

The real truth, though, is that we carry the possibility of sanctuary with us wherever we are, and we may return to the peace of it whenever we notice ourselves feeling out of sorts.

When I say “we,” I certainly mean, “I, too.” Most of my life, I suffered from the habitual experience of tremendous anxiety.

Shifting consciousness has required a little practice, but I have found the following meditation very helpful in cultivating mindfulness of the ever-present possibility of returning to sanctuary whenever the beginnings of anxiety stir within:

“I breathe in, I am at home in peace.”
“I breathe out, I am peace.”

“I breathe in, peace is my home.”
“I breathe out, I carry my home in my breath.”

“I breathe in, peace is my true nature.”
“I breathe out, my true nature is my sanctuary.”

“I breathe in, I am aware of my true nature.”
“I breathe out, I rest in the sanctuary of my true nature.”

“I breathe in, peace is my home.”
“I breathe out, I am home wherever I am.”

“I breathe in, I am resting in truth.”
“I breathe out, I am resting in sanctuary.”

20 Comments

Filed under Whatchamacalit

20 responses to “Meditation on Being Home

  1. recoverythrumylens

    I completely relate to this…I will try to memorize it or better yet write it down and carry it…thank you!

  2. “We tend to believe the story that we convince ourselves is absolute reality…” SO true! I practice the Breathe In/Out with Mantra meditations quite frequently. I have found them to be very releasing, as if I’m taking fear/anxiety out of my physical body with each inhale/exhale. They are very effective. I’ll have to try the one you shared, very insightful šŸ™‚

    • That’s wonderful!! I would love to hear your favorite mantras for Breathe In/Breathe Out meditations. If you have a favorite post in which you have shared them, please consider putting in a link (or links) to it (them) here!! Thanks for reading and commenting!!

      • I haven’t written any posts on meditation actually. It’s interesting because when I started my blog I originally wanted to write about healthy living, giving fitness and healthy eating inspiration. However, as time has gone on I have noticed my heart tells me to write about mental health type inspirational/spiritual aspects in life. My heart is centered in Buddhism, and spirituality in general so I guess my blog has shifted towards that. Which is ok. Point being, I will have to write something about meditation or give my personal Breathing meditations. Your blog is lovely.
        By the way, I see you have Ekoji Sangha listed in your Blogroll. Do you live in Richmond? I’m from there, and I actually went to Ekoji a few times years ago. It’s a wonderful Sangha šŸ™‚

      • It’s your blog, sister, so don’t hide your light under a bushel. Share your light!! I find your content so inspirational. Inspirational/spiritual life is a kind of fitness, so I hope you will feel no shame in writing about what has the most meaning for you!!

        Indeed, I do live in Richmond!! That’s fantastic. Ekoji is a wonderful Sangha; I feel so blessed to have this Jewel right in my backyard šŸ™‚

  3. What a beautiful mantra! I will have to give this a try! Thank you for sharing!

  4. ZenSoapbox

    I am always uncomfortable in new surrounding or around new people. I already use gathas, so this is just an extension of that and in another context. Thank you so much for posting this!

    • I love your gathas!! What a wonderful practice. I agree–these practices are extensions of each other. They can really assist in specific circumstances that trigger discomfort within us by helping us transform that discomfort. Thank you for reading and commenting.

  5. ahhhhh sooo so lovely! Thank you for this chant, prayer, reminder. Yes, returning to our inner sanctuary when the anxiety rises up. Again, your posts are so lovely. I have “mindfulness as prayer” to share with the meditation group I’m running at Gtown. I’d like to print this one out as well and share. It is lovely. Lisa

  6. To say I can relate to this is an understatement. Thank you so much. Very grateful to you and your blog.-Julie

  7. Thanks so much, Julie, for your kind and generous words. Hope this helps!

  8. I too am going to print this out to carry with me. I have suffered from such severe anxiety in the past, and have always looked externally for peace and comfort. But it’s so true that it’s something you have to find from within. Love ā™„

  9. I seem to be attracted more and more to the Zen blogs on wordpress so perhaps the universe is telling me something? Thank you for your posts!

    • Hi Lynn. Thank you so much for reading and commenting. In my view, there is so much we can all learn from each other, because at the heart of Christ’s and Buddha’s teachings is the simple, but powerful message to love one another. Love and blessings, Angela

  10. The breathing exercise looks very useful for me – thank you!

  11. More simple straightforward helpfulness for those in need.

Leave a Reply

