Versatile Blogger Award: Thank You–I am Honored!!


  MoJo, whose FABULOUS blog, Momentum of Joy, reminds me to seize every opportunity to engage in a moment-by-moment, hour-by-hour, day-by-day practice of the cultivation of optimism, has just nominated me and 6 other inspiring bloggers for “The Versatile Blogger” Award.  Mojo is a wonderful writer, whose eloquent prose and radiant positivity have rightly earned her no less than four blogging awards (you go, girl!!)! She experiments the impact of positive and negative affirmations on potato plants growing in her window, and she encourages her readers to re-think their inherited, negative assumptions about things that are, properly viewed, sources of universal abundance–like money and cactus-needles.  Thank you, MoJo, for the honor of the nomination and for helping your readers become attracted to the Speed of your Energy in Motion!

Acceptance of the Versatile Blogger award requires that the recipient:

1.  Thank the nominating blogger and post a link to their blog in the acceptance post.

2.  Cite 7 random things about herself.

3.  Nominate 7 other wonderfully versatile bloggers.

So, it remains to Cite 7 Random things about Myself:

  1. I have a tattoo on my right arm in Tibetan script that says (translated), “Snow Mountain”.  I got this tattoo last year to honor the great transition of Montana, my German Shepherd friend and one of the greatest loves of my life. (You can read about her: https://erranttranscendentalist.wordpress.com/2011/10/17/its-a-dogs-life/)  She is still with me every day in Spirit!
  2. Last Monday, my Reiki Master Teacher honored me by conferring upon me her own “Reiki Master” title after about a year of apprenticing.
  3. I love my family. I love my family. I absolutely wholeheartedly love my family.
  4. I believe that everyone–absolutely everyone–even those whom others would condemn–absolutely everyone deserves love, compassion, and understanding.
  5. I believe that the practice of compassion for one’s self is the most powerful way to begin to show real compassion to others.  Without compassion for the self, compassion for others will often drain quickly and turn into resentment. Compassion for self is the starting point for all transformational growth.
  6. Like MoJo, I, too, haven’t always felt optimistic about life. In fact, I felt pretty pessimistic.  My whole life-view until about two years ago originated in core-beliefs of scarcity and futility.  I often felt powerless, helpless, and depressed, and those beliefs materialized in my life in the forms of chaos, drama, illness, and self-limitation.
  7. I transformed my life with a lot of help from meditation, yoga, Reiki, good friends and family, and relentless “selfish” self-care.  Now, chaos, drama, and illness have dissolved.  Peace generated within produces peaceful awareness in the face of seemingly external circumstances.
  8. I cherish time alone as an invitation of the Universe to return to Stillness.
  9. In my “day job,” I am a university professor who feels totally turned on by the enthusiasm and curiosity of her students.
  10. My dream job:  work at a Wolf Sanctuary helping to save the Grey and Red Wolf populations from extinction.  Their wilderness habitats have been so encroached upon by human habitation that they are greatly at risk. Saving the wolves is really about saving the world’s vanishing wildernesses.

And, to Nominate 7 other awesome bloggers for the Versatile Blogger Award:

1. Mindful Balance: daily reflections on meditation, mindfulness, and balance.  The author encourages us to Hold the Heart Open and to Know that we Have Enough.  He offers a first-rate annotated bibliography of outstanding “must reads,” and provides courses and events for those in the Geneva area. I hope to check one of them out some day soon!

2. A Leaf in Springtime: This author’s photo-essays fill me with longing, nostalgia, peace, and wonder, and they evoke the fragility and endurance of all nature and life.  I have only recently discovered her work, but I will gratefully follow it as long as she keeps publishing!!

3. Living in the Now:  Love this author’s refreshing honesty, Buddhist fundamentals of daily living, and wisdom.  One of my favorite bloggers!!

4. The Consummate: This author’s sometimes quirky, sometimes humorous, always refreshing blog reminds us that we cannot borrow happiness from anything outside ourselves…

5. Be at Peace:  A fairly new blog that drips with peaceful Zen…and she has a new, beautiful singing bowl to sing about!

6. Niltsi’s Spirit: Gorgeous photography of the natural world and poetry inspired by it. Lovely…

7. Anapudin: Reflections on the details of daily living and the search for enlightenment through the Buddhist teachings of Nichiren Daishonin.

There are so many others I would nominate if I could, including many who have already received the award as a result of their inspiring writing, art, photography, and living.

Thanks again and Lots of Love and Light!!

11 Comments

Filed under Gratitude, Light and love from other bloggers

11 responses to “Versatile Blogger Award: Thank You–I am Honored!!

  1. Such wonderful love and gratitude. And you facts about you are AWESOME!!! I want to comment about each one but I will summarize with YOU ARE SPECTACULAR!!! I am so thankful for you!

  2. Thank you for visiting my site and listing my blog as one one your nomination. I am quite new to the blog world and still trying to get a hang of it… I will find the way to place a link back to this site 🙂
    Peace and Oneness to you.

    • Love your blog! The best thing about the award is that you get to: state 7 random things about yourself and recommend 7 other blogs for the award. It’s an awesome way to pay forward and expand readership for you and for them 🙂 welcome to the blogging world- you’re doing really great!

  3. I love the 7 things about you! Reading them made me feel like I’ve known you (so sorry sound so terribly presumptious!) for a while and where you are coming from. I can relate to the things you’ve just listed above (eventhough I don’t have a tattoo and haven’t taken up Reiki) 🙂 But I too feel that I’ve had the opportunity for growth and rebirth after a major illness two years ago. And yet what was a calamity was actually one of life’s greatest blessings to set me on the right track and have a fresh start in life. Thank you again for nominating me for the Award. But more than all the awards in the world, is the just the simple blessing of knowing people like you!! Sharon

  4. I’m honored by your words. As soon as I read a single post of yours, I felt drawn to your lovely energy! So- not presumptuous at all, ‘cuz I’m experiencing the same thing. Sounds like we’ve both had the opportunity to be reborn from the ashes, as they say:)! Keep shining that light of yours — you never know who will be inspired and warmed by it.

  5. This is so fascinating :-). What do you teach?

  6. Pingback: Versatile Blogger Nomination « Living In The Now

  7. Thank you for your nomination! Please read my post regarding it! http://livinginthenow.net/2012/04/01/versatile-blogger-nomination/#more-1062

    Thanks again, and take care!

    – Jason

Leave a Reply

